Weapons Possession/Possession Of A Firearm In Texas
If you have been charged with Weapons Possession or Possession of a Firearm in Texas, you need help from an experienced team of criminal defense attorneys.
Depending on the firearm / weapon, you may be charged in State Court or Federal Court.
The Second Amendment to the United States Constitution allows for citizens to “keep and bear arms” and Article 1, § 23 of the Texas Constitution states that “every citizen shall have the right to keep and
bear arms in the lawful defense of himself or the State,” the law does place some limits on the type and manner in which a person can carry a weapon.
Some places where a person may not carry a firearm (even with a concealed handgun license):
- Liquor Stores / Bars / Some Restaurants
Some types of weapons a person may not possess:
- Fully automatic firearms
- Short barrel shotguns / rifles
- Brass knuckles
Depending on the type of weapon, and place where it is carried, the punishment range can vary.
Possessing a prohibited weapon can either be a CLASS A MISDEMEANOR, with a punishment range of up to 1 year in the county jail and a fine up to $4,000.00, or a THIRD DEGREE FELONY, with a punishment range of 2 to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.00.
A person with any prior felony conviction who possesses a firearm (or body armor) faces THIRD DEGREE FELONY charges, with a punishment range of 2 to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.00.
Violations of laws dealing with weapons possession or possession of a firearm can either be prosecuted in State or Federal court.
Do not let your Constitutional right to own or possess a firearm be unjustly and unlawfully infringed by the government. If you have been arrested or charged with a weapons offense, contact the experienced, TOP RATED criminal defense attorneys at Vinas & Graham, PLLC today at 713-229-9992 for a FREE CONSULTATION about your case.