Blue and red lights are swirling in your rear-view mirror as you slow to a stop on the side of the road.
You’re in trouble. You had a few too many drinks at the bar and decided to drive home. Next thing you know, you’re in handcuffs being placed under arrest.
You know you’re guilty. You failed the breathalyzer test and see a possible DWI conviction in your future.
But what does that mean? Will you go to jail? Lose your driver’s license? Pay massive fines? How will this affect your future?
We’re here to answer those burning questions. Read on to learn more about what a DWI conviction will mean for you.
What Does a DWI Conviction Mean?
In Houston, Texas, the punishment for a DWI conviction will vary depending on the case.
You will see fines, suspension of license, and jail time increase drastically if this is your second or third conviction.
If this is your first offense, expect to pay a fine of up to $2,000 in fines.
For second or third offenses, you will be ordered to pay anywhere between $4,000-$10,000 in fines.
These costs are only the fines that are required for you to pay. This does not include the additional costs you will pay for court fines, increases in car insurance, and possible bail.
Suspension of License and Possible Jail Time
For first, second, and third-time offenders, your driver’s license will be suspended for up to two years. In addition, you will be required to pay up to $2,000 annually for three years once your license is reinstated.
Jail time is also likely and the length of incarceration is dependent on whether this is your first DWI conviction.
First-time offenders will be sentenced between 3 and 180 days to the county jail. Second-time offenders will be sentenced up to 1 year in the county jail. Third-time offenders will be sentenced anywhere from 2-10 years in the state prison.
DWI Education Program
In order to get your driver’s license reinstated, you will need to attend a DWI education program.
These programs are provided by the Texas Department of State Health Services and are required to be completed within 180 days of probation.
How to Avoid Conviction
Don’t hesitate to call an attorney to represent you in court. The monetary costs and valuable time you will spend for a DWI conviction may be avoidable.
The arresting officer may not have had probable cause to pull you over in the first place. Or maybe the officer didn’t follow proper protocol by notifying you of your rights.
These questions are worth asking because a DWI conviction will be on your criminal record forever. It will not only cost you time and income, but will affect your ability to get a job, apply for loans, or rent an apartment.
You will carry this DWI with you for your whole life–unless you fight the charge and win.
We’re here to help you do just that. Contact us now so we can assist in your case.